Tour de Pays Drôme des Collines
>>
Home
>
Cycling
>
Tour de Pays Drôme des Collines
Tain-l'Hermitage

Tour de Pays Drôme des Collines

Fauna
Flora
Embed this item to access it offline
This trail is quite long and is usually performed in four stages enabling you to discover the culture and pleasures of the palate. You can make the trip shorter or longer depending on your level and preferences. The numerous landscapes and the scenery it has to offer make it extremely rich in diversity. The trail is for cyclists of all levels and ages, however, you need to practice the sport regularly.

12 points of interest

  • Flora

    Tain l'Hermitage vineyards

    The Hermitage slopes are the symbol of Rhodanien landscapes and are part of the most beautiful wine-growing areas in the region. At the heart of the northern Côtes du Rhône vineyards, this site was classified in 2013. Covering all the southern facing hillsides and offering an interesting, historical and beautiful landscape all add to making this great vineyard a good visual reference.
  • Old washhouse of the Veaune river

    As from 1890, many towns and villages started to erect communal washhouses. Some counsellors came up with the idea of building one along the edge of the river Veaune enabling the washerwomen to work on both sides. Unfortunately, the owner of the land on one of the sides was not in agreeance so the council had to reconsider the project. They decided therefore on a one-sided, sheltered washhouse in 1896. Consequently, washerwomen had to take turns to do the laundry. Along the edge of the river the soapwort plant was very useful for scrubbing the laundry. Its rich content of saponin gave it extremely high cleansing properties. Around 1960 the washhouse stopped being used when water supply in the home became available. Information source : cartepatrimoine.ladrome.fr
  • The château of Génissieux

    The Château Messance was built in the XVlllth century in the centre of the village. The beginning of the work was on demand of M Jomaron de Montchorel and completed by Jean-Baptiste Maisonneuve and his son François Benoît. The castle was bought in 1828 by Hippolyte Charles who was the lover of Joséphine de Beauharnais. Information source Wikipedia
  • Montmiral

    The name de Montmiral is of latin origin Montmiratus, meaning « the hill from where we can see clearly ». The village does in fact date back to Antiquity as Roman remains have been found here. Throughout time the village has known several churches and is the result of the joining together of two of the latter : St Christophe, St Michel sur Savasse and St Martin. The day after the French Revolution the different churches separated. The Saint-Christophe church, around which the present village was built, has an old bell tower and two apses of Roman style, whereas the painting and architecture inside are of art nouveau style. Its stained glass windows are from the 1900s and made by the glass painter L. Balmet. Information source : Wikipedia
  • Saint Antoine l'Abbaye

    Classified amongst historical monuments since 1946, St Antoine l’Abbayé is also one of the most beautiful villages of France. Many well restored buildings of the Abbey overlook the medieval village with its tiny streets and old houses (XIVth – XVth century for the oldest amongst them). The abbey of Saint-Antoine was built to house relics of Saint Anthony of Egypt. Its facade is of flamboyant gothic style and was erected in 1297. The abbey has several structures : the abbot house, the great cloister, the great refectory hall, rooms for the profession of vows and noviciate, library, infirmary, stables and gardens. Most of them were transformed during the XVIIth and XVIIIth centuries.
  • Flora

    The forest of Chambaran

    Classified amongst the national natural heritage the plateau des Chambarans is a vast clayey zone and a genuine water reservoir for the surrounding land. This forest was the mark of human settlement during the Antiquity era as we can find traces of an oppidum. From XlVth to XVlllth centuries numerous glass factories were established in the area finding the wood needed there to fire the ovens. During the second world war this forest was used by the Maquis members as a refuge and as a base behind the lines for the Vercors Resistance. Nowadays the plateau of Chambaran is a nature park stretching over 240 enclosed hectares, with hilly forests and ponds welcoming a rich fauna (various deer species, wild boar, rodents, birds…) and is also a military base.
  • Le Grand Serre

    Le Grand Serre is a medieval village perched on the top of a hill overlooking two rivers. The market hall built in the Middle Ages, its church dating back to the Xlllth century, its ramparts, narrow streets, stone and molasse house fronts are all evidence of a long history. Information source : Townhall of le Grand Serre
  • Moras en Valloire

    The history of Moras starts at the top of its hillside overlooking the area of Valloire and watching over its pear orchards. Archeological digging in the 1970s revealed dwellings dating back to the Neolithic era (around 6000 years ago) and especially engraved pottery decorated with symbols indicating the existence of a civilisation. In archeology these almost unique symbols form a type called « morassian”. From an etymological point of view Moras means “butte” (mound) according to one theory or “marais” (marsh) according to another. As for the name « Valloire » (Vallis Aurea, the valley of gold), it was given by the Romans referring to the valley of fertile soil. This ideally situated hillside has always been an attraction to mankind. At the top there used to be a castle which started out as a simple watchtower round year 1000 becoming by the end of the Middle Ages an impressive fortress. Finally the French Revolution then the 19th century marked the end of administrative power in the village of Moras. The fiefdom then split up into several independant villages. Information source : Townhall of Moras en Valloire
  • The château of Lapérouze

    A beautiful edifice visited by Napoleon lll. It has become one of the best places in the area for tourists to stay nowadays, offering high-standard accommodation.
  • The château of Cros

    With its circular turrets the château of Cros is one of the most remarkable edifices in Anneyron. Today it has become a holiday gîte and gives the owners the feeling they are lord and lady of the manor !
  • Anneyron

    Before 1790 Anneyron was a parish belonging to the Diocese of Vienna. Its church dedicated to Notre Dame was a priory depending on Saint Peter’s church of Vienna, first becoming known in 1276 and united afterwards with the latter giving it the right to collect the tithes of Anneyron. The parish was part of the community and mandate of Albon and belonged to this town up until 4th May 1809. On this date the parish joined the village of Mantaille to make up the district of Saint-Vallier with the former as a sort of annex.
  • Saint Vallier sur Rhône

    To the south of the town of Vienne as you come to the « défilé » (winding flow of the Rhône) going as far as Tain l’Hermitage, you can see the town of Saint Vallier and its hillside “Montrebut” along the left bank of the river. The river Galaure joins the Rhône at this point. The town has always been a place for exchange, trade and craft industries as great routes have always passed through such as the Roman way « Agrippa », the Royal road and nowadays the main, very busy National 7 road.

Description

1 - 0 km
Here in Tain l’Hermitage, the great wines of northern Côtes du Rhône carry the national label Vignobles & Découvertes « d’Hermitage en Saint Joseph ». In addition to that, the chocolate fragrances emanating from the Cité du Chocolat ValRhona will titillate your senses. A real treat for your tastebuds, rich in tannins. But best to keep for the return journey….

2 – 4.6 km
Head for Larnage then Chantemerle les Blés surrounded by terraced vineyards.

3 – 8.2 km
In Chantemerle les Blés you can visit the church Notre Dame, a gem of Roman art dating back to 11th and 12th centuries.

4 – 10.7 km
The trail then takes you up and down hills and on the way, past the small lake of Mouchet in Chavannes. The pond is a sensitive nature reserve developed for learning about the fauna and flora of the wetlands and is also an ideal place for relaxing under some of the impressive trees there.

5 – 21.7 km
In Saint Donat why not take a swim at the Lake Champos. A slide along with other activities will delight the young and not so young ones. Others may prefer visiting the old town with its collegiate cathedral where each year the Bach Festival takes place in June and July.

6 – 36.9 km
The trail then continues through the « green lung » of Drome des Collines along the valley of Herbasse to Peyrins near the town of Romans, famous for its industrial and craft heritage (leather and prêt à porter Made in France).

7 – 71.2 km
It then carries on to Montrigaud with its pond named Joana Maria where fisherman and tranquillity make it a place to be appreciated. This section, more difficult physically than the two previous ones, has steep uphill inclines. All along, the magnificent views of the Vercors mountains add to its beauty. Worth seeing along the journey, in the neighbouring county Isère, is the medieval village of Saint Antoine l’Abbaye, classified as one of the most beautiful villages in France. As you leave Montrigaud the landscape becomes mainly forest land.

8 – 77.2 km
The trail then takes you through forests, one after the other, such as the forest of Thivollet and Chambaran, going as far as Roybon.

9 – 95.4 km
Arriving in le Grand Serre with its medieval market hall, you are back in Drôme. From here you head to Hauterives and the famous Palais Idéal du Facteur Cheval, a gem of art brut where music concerts, including jazz, take place every year in June and July.

10 – 118.6 km
Some steep uphill sections and great downhill slopes will then take you to the town of Saint Vallier. Why not make a few stops on the way in Moras en Valloire for instance, a pretty medieval village at the heart of the region, granted the label « site remarquable du gôut » for its succulent pear. Another village is Anneyron with its frescoes in the choir of the church Notre Dame or its outlets like Lafuma or Jars pottery.

11 – 124.4 km
You come next to Albon with its classified medieval watchtower. At that point you have plenty of time to warm up as it’s mostly downhill from here to Saint Vallier.

12 – 141.8 km
Saint Vallier and the majestic meanders of the Rhône, is the beginning of a succession of views overlooking the great river, the hills of Ardèche and Pilat as well as the Galaure Valley. Another place worth seeing and only a few kilometres away, is the natural site of the Roches qui Dansent in Saint Barthélémy de Vals. Finally the trail zizags through many orchards and terraced vineyards heading towards Larnage then back to Tain l’Hermitage.
  • Departure : Tain l'Hermitage -Tourist office
  • Arrival : Tain l'Hermitage -Tourist office
  • Towns crossed : Tain-l'Hermitage, Crozes-Hermitage, Larnage, Chantemerle-les-Blés, Mercurol-Veaunes, Chavannes, Saint-Donat-sur-l'Herbasse, Charmes-sur-l'Herbasse, Margès, Peyrins, Montmiral, Montrigaud, Hauterives, Saint-Sorlin-en-Valloire, Saint-Uze, and Érôme

Altimetric profile


Information desks

6, place du 8 mai 1945 - BP 70019, 26601 Tain l'Hermitage

http://www.ardeche-hermitage.com

info@ah-tourisme.com

04 75 06 06 12


Transport

Bus route N° 4 Valence - Tain l'Hermitage - Serves sur Rhône

Access and parking

Follow the N7 from Valence towards Lyon as far as Tain l'Hermitage.

Parking :

Market Square (Vélodis)

Accessibility

Emergency number :114

More information


Report a problem or an error

If you have found an error on this page or if you have noticed any problems during your hike, please report them to us here:

Tour de Pays Drôme des Collines
Tain-l'Hermitage

Tour de Pays Drôme des Collines

Archéologie et histoire
Architecture
Faune
Flore
Lac
Embarquer cet élément afin d'y avoir accès hors connexion
Le Tour de Pays Drôme des Collines est un parcours relativement long se réalisant généralement en quatre étape pour l'agrémenter de visites des patrimoines et de découvertes gustatives. Le nombre d'étape peut être raccourci ou rallongé en fonction du niveau et des envies des pratiquants. Toutefois, c'est un parcours qui est riche par sa diversité tant au niveau des paysages que des nombreux points de vue. Il s'avère accessible à un public large mais ayant tout de même une pratique régulière.

Les 12 patrimoines à découvrir

  • Flore

    Les vignobles de Tain l'Hermitage

    Les coteaux de l'Hermitage, emblème des paysages rhodaniens, font partie des plus beaux sites viticoles de la région. Au coeur du vignoble des Côtes du Rhône septentrionaux, ce site a été classé en 2013. Repère visuel très fort, ce vignoble occupe la totalité des collines exposées au Sud et présente un très grand intérêt paysager et historique.
  • Histoire

    Ancien lavoir sur la Veaune

    Dès 1890, de nombreuses communes s’équipent de lavoirs municipaux. Les élus pensent alors à construire un lavoir sur la rivière Veaune qui permettrait aux lavandières d’être en vis-à-vis. Cependant, le propriétaire d’un des deux côtés n’ayant pas donné son accord, la municipalité a dû revoir sa copie et un lavoir abrité ouvert sur un seul côté fut construit en 1896. Les lavandières se relayaient donc. A noter également que la saponaire que l’on pouvait trouver le long des chemins leur était très utile pour frotter le linge, en effet cette plante riche en saponine a un fort pouvoir lavant. Le lavoir tombe en désuétude vers 1960 avec l’arrivée de l’eau courante. Source : cartepatrimoine.ladrome.fr
  • Histoire

    Château de Génissieux

    Château Messance construit au XVIIIe siècle au centre du village. Débuté par M. Jomaron de Montchorel et achevé par Jean-Baptiste Maisonneuve et son fils François Benoît. Ce château fut acheté en 1828 par Hippolyte Charles qui fut l'amant de Joséphine de Beauharnais. source Wikipedia
  • Histoire

    Montmiral

    Le nom de Montmiral serait originaire du latin Montmiratus, littéralement « le mont d’où on voit bien ». Le village daterait d’ailleurs de l’Antiquité car des vestiges de l’époque romaine ont été retrouvés ici. Le village connu plusieurs églises et sera même le résultat du rassemblement de deux d’entre elles : St Christophe, St Michel sur Savasse et St Martin. Au lendemain de la Révolution, les différentes églises se séparent. L'église Saint-Christophe autour de laquelle s'est formé le village actuel comporte un vieux clocher et deux absides qui sont style roman, alors que les peintures et l'architecture de l'intérieur sont de style art nouveau. L'église est ornée de vitraux "1900" du peintre verrier L. Balmet. Source : Wikipedia
  • Architecture

    Saint Antoine l'Abbaye

    Inscrit au titre des monuments historiques depuis 1946, St Antoine l’Abbaye est également l’un des plus beaux villages de France. Les bâtiments nombreux et bien restaurés de l'abbaye dominent le village médiéval avec ses petites ruelles et maisons anciennes (XIVe – XVe siècle pour les plus anciennes). L'abbaye de Saint-Antoine a été fondée pour accueillir les reliques de Saint Antoine-l'Égyptien. Sa façade est de style gothique flamboyant. Elle a été érigée en 1297. L'abbaye comprend de nombreux bâtiments : maison abbatiale, grand cloître, grand réfectoire, professoir, noviciat, bibliothèque, infirmerie, écuries et jardins. La plupart ont été modifiés aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles.
  • Flore

    Forêt des Chambarans

    Classé à l’inventaire national du patrimoine naturel, le plateau des Chambarans offre une vaste zone argileuse, véritable réserve d’eau pour les sols alentours. Cette forêt marqua l’implantation humaine dès l’Antiquité car on y retrouve les traces d’un oppidum. Du XIV au XVIIIème, de nombreuses verreries s’implantent dans le secteur, y trouvant le bois nécessaire à l’alimentation des fours. Durant la Seconde Guerre, ce bois servit de refuge aux maquisards et de base arrière pour la Résistance du Vercors. Aujourd’hui, le plateau de Chambaran abrite un parc naturel clos de 240 hectares, constitué de forêts vallonnées et d'étangs, accueillants une faune riche (cervidéssangliersrongeursoiseaux...), ainsi qu'un camp militaire.
  • Architecture

    Le Grand Serre

    Le Grand Serre est un village médiéval perché en haut d’une colline surplombant deux rivières. Les halles du Moyen-âge, l’église du 13ème siècle, les remparts, les ruelles étroites, les façades en galets et molasse, sont autant de témoins d’un long passé. Source : Mairie du Grand Serre
  • Histoire

    Moras en Valloire

    L’histoire de Moras commence en haut de sa colline, qui domine la Valloire et veille sur les vergers de poiriers. Des fouilles archéologiques réalisées dans les années 1970 ont révélé des habitats datant du Néolithique (environ 6000 ans) et ont surtout mis à jour des poteries gravées et ornées de pictogrammes témoignant d’une société. En archéologie, ces signes presque uniques forment le type dit « morassien ». Étymologiquement, Moras signifie « butte » selon une hypothèse ou « marais » selon une autre. Quant à l’appellation « Valloire » (Vallis Aurea, la vallée d’or), elle fut donnée par les Romains pour désigner la vallée aux terres fertiles. La colline idéalement placée n’a cessé d’attirer les hommes. Au sommet de celle-ci s’élevait un château. De simple motte surmontée d’une tour vers l’an mil, il était à la fin du Moyen Age une importante place forte. Enfin, la Révolution puis le XIXème siècle mirent fin à la puissance administrative de Moras. La châtellenie éclata alors en plusieurs communes indépendantes. Source : Mairie de Moras en Valloire
  • Histoire

    Château de Lapérouze

    Très bel édifice qui accueilli Napoléon III. C’est aujourd’hui l’un des hébergeurs phare du territoire avec une belle offre d’hébergement.
  • Architecture

    Château du Cros

    Avec ses belles tours circulaires, le château de Cros est l’un des édifices remarquables d’Anneyron. Aujourd’hui transformé en gîte, il permet à ses locataires de se sentir comme des châtelains !
  • Histoire

    Anneyron

    Avant 1790, Anneyron était une paroisse du diocèse de Vienne, dont l'église dédiée à Notre-Dame était celle d'un prieuré de la dépendance de Saint-Pierre de Vienne, connu dès 1276 et uni dans la suite à cette abbaye, qui de ce chef avait les dîmes d'Anneyron. Cette paroisse faisait partie de la communauté et mandement d'Albon, et fut comprise dans la commune du même nom jusqu'au 4 mai 1809, date à laquelle elle en fut distraite pour former avec la commune de Mantaille une commune du Canton de Saint-Vallier, ayant Mantaille pour annexe.
  • Histoire

    Saint Vallier sur Rhône

    Au sud de Vienne, à l'entrée du défilé qui mène à Tain l'Hermitage, Saint Vallier s'étire sur la rive gauche du Rhône, entre le fleuve et la colline de Montrebut, au débouché de la vallée de la Galaure. Traversée successivement par la voie romaine Agrippa, puis la route royale et enfin par la route nationale 7, la cité a toujours été une étape et un lieu d'échanges, de commerce et d'artisanat.

Description

1 - 0 km
A Tain l'Hermitage, les grands crus des Côtes du Rhône septentrionaux bénéficient ici du label national Vignobles & Découvertes "d'Hermitage en Saint Joseph". De plus, les effluves chocolatées de la Cité du Chocolat Valrhona aiguiseront vos sens. De quoi vous garantir une halte gustative haute en tanins, à prévoir, plutôt au retour...

2 - 4,6 km
Vous rejoignez Larnage puis Chantemerle les Blés en toute proximité avec les vignobles en terrasse.

3 - 8,2 km
A Chantemerle les Blés, visitez l'église Notre Dame, un joyau de l'art roman du 11ème 12ème siècle.

4 - 10,7 km
Se succèderont ensuite plusieurs collines avec au passage la découverte à Chavannes de l'étang du Mouchet, un espace naturel sensible aménagé pour découvrir faune et flore des zones humides et se ressourcer à l'ombre des grands arbes.

5 - 21,7 km
A Saint Donat, accordez vous une pause baignade au Domaine de Champos. Un toboggan de plusieurs pistes ravira petits et grands. Les autres en profiteront pour visiter le centre ancien jusqu'à la collégiale qui accueille chaque année le festival Bach de juin à juillet.

6 - 36,9 km
Puis le parcours se poursuit dans le poumon vert de la Drôme des Collines en vallée de l'Herbasse puis rejoint Peyrins, proche de Romans et son patrimoine industriel et artisanal autour du cuir et quelques talents du prêt à porter made in France.

7 - 71,2 km
Poursuite jusqu'à Montrigaud, dont l'étang Joana Maria permettra d'apprécier la quiétude et la rencontre des pêcheurs en eau douce. Cette étape, plus physique que les deux précédentes, présente un dénivelé important. Le tout est agrémenté de magnifiques points de vue sur le Vercors. En route, une halte en terre iséroise à la cité médiévale de Saint Antoine l'Abbaye, classée parmi les plus beaux villages de France, sera la bienvenue. De Montrigaud, l'identité du paysage devient forestière.

8 - 77,2 km
Se succèdent plusieurs forêts comme la forêt des Thivollet et celles des Chambaran jusqu'à Roybon.

9 - 95,4 km
Retour ensuite en terre drômoise par le Grand Serre et ses halles médiévales, pour rejoindre Hauterives et le Palais Idéal du Facteur Cheval, juyau de l'art brut et écrin de "musicales et soirées jazz" en juin et juillet.

10 - 118,6 km
Poursuite en direction de Saint Vallier avec des montées importantes mais aussi de belles descentes. Quelques pauses découvertes à programmer notamment à Moras en Valloire, joli village médiéval, coeur du territoire porteur du label site remarquable du goût pour ces poires de la Valloire. Puis Anneyron, les fresques du choeur de l'église Notre Dame, les magasins d'usine Lafuma ou Jars pour la céramique.

11 - 124,4 km
Viendra ensuite Albon et sa tour médiévale classée. De là, vous avez le temps de vous échauffer avec une partie majoritairement descendante jusqu'à Saint Vallier.

12 - 141,8 km
Depuis Saint Vallier et ses défilés panoramiques sur le Rhône, les paysages se succèdent avec plusieurs points de vue sur la Vallée du Rhône, l'Ardèche, le Pilat et la Vallée de la Galaure.  A quelques kilomètres, le site naturel des Roches qui Dansent à Saint Barthélémy de Vals vaut le détour. Enfin, le parcours sillonnera le long de nombreux vergers et vignes en terrasse pour rejoindre Larnage puis Tain l'Hermitage.
  • Départ : Tain l'Hermitage - Office de tourisme
  • Arrivée : Tain l'Hermitage - Office de tourisme
  • Communes traversées : Tain-l'Hermitage, Crozes-Hermitage, Larnage, Chantemerle-les-Blés, Mercurol-Veaunes, Chavannes, Saint-Donat-sur-l'Herbasse, Charmes-sur-l'Herbasse, Margès, Peyrins, Montmiral, Montrigaud, Hauterives, Saint-Sorlin-en-Valloire, Saint-Uze et Érôme

Profil altimétrique


Recommandations

Parcours N°13 rouge

Lieux de renseignement

Office de tourisme Ardèche Hermitage

6, place du 8 mai 1945 - BP 70019, 26601 Tain l'Hermitage

http://www.ardeche-hermitage.cominfo@ah-tourisme.com04 75 06 06 12

Transport

Ligne 4 Valence - Tain l'Hermitage - Serves sur Rhône

Accès routiers et parkings

De Valence, prendre la N7 en direction de Lyon jusqu'à Tain l'Hermitage.

Stationnement :

Place du marché (Vélodis)

Accessibilité

Boucle cyclo
Numéro de secours :114

Signaler un problème ou une erreur

Vous avez repéré une erreur sur cette page ou constaté un problème lors de votre randonnée, signalez-les nous ici :


À proximité
47